I Am Sick of Writing Essays.

bust the board 

I used to love writing essays before.  During my first and second year of university, I was all into it.  Now I am just sick and tired of this.  I can understand why profs would assign essays in say a 300 or even 400 level course.  But once you get into the higher 400 level and 500 levels, I really do not see the point of having to write a 10 or 15 page essay.  Yes, sure, we need to develop writing skills but I am confident that most of us by now have those skills already.  Those that don’t are probably already kicked out of Uni and working at McDonald’s right now.  A seminar type class where we move beyond formulating a thesis should be the norm in high level classes.  But its not.  Its the same crap that we’ve been doing the past 3 or four years.  Exchanging ideas, participating in mock conventions, formulating policy…that is the type of practical activities that we should be doing in class.  Not writing essays.  This increases the quality of the education, especially that of the social sciences.  We don’t get any funding as it is.  This way, the faculty can at least show that they are making the most of the little money that they have. 

 I have not had a proper night’s sleep in the longest time, all because of this damn essay.  And this is not the only one.  I have like three more to go.  And that is just in one class!  It makes me sick to my stomach to even think about an essay.  Its bad enough I had to choose a stupid country for my assignment of which there is absolutely NO information on.  Good job George Bush.  It is because of you that Iraq has no current policy on the NPT.  And its because of you that I am stressing over these essays and its because of you that I can’t sleep properly.  I can’t wait til this stupid essay is over.  My goal is to get this done and handed in within three hours from now.  We’ll see how that goes.  Whoever is reading this, please pray for me!  If and when I get this done, I will breath a huge sigh of relief…until I realize I have fast approaching assignments in my other three classes.  Ahh yes…the sweet life of a student. 

2 responses to “I Am Sick of Writing Essays.

  1. Dude I’m in my first year University and I am already sick of Papers. Im writing one now and using this comment as a distraction from getting back to work. OH THE PAIN!

Leave a Reply

