Midterms suck. Procrastination sucks. Arky sucks.

studentJust like any other student the night before an exam, I am procrastinating. I’ll never procrastinate when I have nothing due or nothing coming up. I’ll always do my work when I don’t have to. But as soon as there’s a midterm or something, Im wasting time. Procrastination is the life of a student. Good ones and bad.

Let met talk about Arky. I don’t even know the number of this damn class. I think its 325 but Im not sure. Anyways, its a class on ancient civilizations. The material is ok I guess but I just hate this class. Its boring and there is group work. All the other 200 people got really good group members. I got stuck with these 3 morons that I knew were a bunch of turds the second I met them. One is completely anti-social. The second one looked decent but I’ve never seen him in class. The third idiot, we don’t know who the hell he is because nobody’s ever seen him. Our group doesn’t sit together like we’re supposed to. The anti-social guy sits on the other side of the class doing crap all on is iBook. I was hoping to have a chick or two in my group but nope. I end up with three morons. Just my luck. The midterm (the one I am procrastinating for right now) is complete garbage. This midterm covers 5 chapters which adds up to 170 pages exactly. The exam we’re having only has 40 questions, all multiple choice. 5 of those questions is going to be on some friggin map. So that leaves us with 35 questions based on 170 pages of readings we have to do PLUS  the powerpoint slides he used to teach the crap. That pretty much means that 75% of the crap that I and at least 150 other students that are cramming for this exam as we speak, will not be tested on. Some of these profs. need to learn how to make exams. Like seriously, how stupid is that. The more I think about it, the more it pisses me off.

Philosophy is another one. Phil 323, Philosophy of the Mind. Very interesting course. Equally interesting Prof. Prof walks in shares his theory on how grades kill school; that if it were up to him, he would completely abolish the grading system. He believes that grades are sort of a carrot and we (the students) are the donkey. Grades are essentially the institution’s and employer’s tool for bribing us to do well so that we get good jobs and make more money. Grades kill the love that so many students have/had for learning. He doesn’t even call “learning” within the context of a grading system “learning.” He believes that we copewith the material rather than learn it. If we cope with what we are supposed to learn, we don’t understand it and therefore, don’t actually learn it. We cope because we want to get good grades so we can get a high GPA and get a good job. We don’t learn it for the intrinsic love or value of it. If grades weren’t part of school, people would actually learn and love what they learn. Interesting right? I found that philosophy amazing. I had never thought like that. Then this prof comes out and says, the midterm we’re going to write next week is going to be the hardest we’ve ever written. And he seems serious. I mean what the hell. First you say grades kill school, then you come out and give us this midterm that has the potential to kill our GPAs. This prof is good but I am starting to hate him just for this simple reason. This is going to be a long week:

  • Arky midterm Friday (tomorrow)
  • Poli essay due Tuesday (10 pages)
  • Phil “hardest exam of our university lives even though I think grades are horrible” midterm Thursday.

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

